2012: My story will be in “Our Portland Story”

Great news! One of my stories has been selected for publication in Our Portland Story, Vol. 2, which is set for publication in the summer of 2012.

It’s still early in the process, so I’m not sure which story they will include from my two submissions, but I know it will be one of my favorites — either “For an Anxious Cowdog” or “No One Will Believe Me. Oh Well.

Our Portland Story is published every other year, and is described as “part yearbook, part insider’s travel guide, and part collected memoirs […] all about Portland by Portlanders.” Volume 1 is available at numerous Portland book stores, and was released in the Fall of 2010. My friends at NeighborhoodNotes.com listed it in its “Nine Must-Reads for Locals, Visitors and ‘Portland-Curious‘” in December.

What I especially love about the publication is that it emphasizes creative design as much as creative writing. Each story is assigned to a designer who will create an unique color layout for it. The stories aren’t always printed in columns, but in forms that match the sentiment of the story and its accompanying design.The results are unique and gorgeous, as you can see on Our Portland Story’s splash page. (Under ‘Featured Stories,’ you can choose ‘design view’ or ‘story view.’)

I will post updates on the project as it moves along, but for now, I am thrilled to know that a publication like this even exists, and I feel honored to be part of it.

Here is a link to Oregon Public Broadcasting’s interview with one of the book’s creator’s Melissa Delzio.

And here’s a video that wonderfully captures what Our Portland Story is all about:

2 responses to “2012: My story will be in “Our Portland Story”

  1. Rock on, Caridad! That is awesome!

  2. Gracias, Scott! I’m pumped!

Leave a Reply

