For Neighborhood Notes: Just opened in PDX

I’m taking on Neighborhood Notes’ new business column and I have to say, it is a lot of fun. It’s a place where I can put on my reporter hat, but wear a goofy T-shirt at the same time. It’s fairly amazing to see an entire list of all the new businesses setting up shop in this city (and I’m sure there are plenty we didn’t hear about). To give you an idea, the column includes:

  • A fusion restaurant newly staffed by drag queens
  • A burger shack where there’s bacon with nearly every menu item
  • Cartoons of a talking hamburger and a Bikeasaurus
  • A Bikeasaurus!
  • An indoor dog park (crazy, but apparently amazing)

If you’re looking for something new to do in Portland, or you want to count the puns I probably made throughout the epic piece, it’s all right here.

Now, for good measure, here’s a photo I got while I was pleasantly stuck on Portland’s Hawthorne Bridge for about 15 minutes the other day. I do my share of griping, but at sunset on a bridge, thinking of the Bikeasaurus and all his new friends, I love this city.


Leave a Reply

